WJC: United States to next host World Juniors in 2025

February 13, 2018 - 11:08 am

The International Ice Hockey Federation has reportedly named the locations for the next 14 Under-20 World Junior Championships, with the United Stats next scheduled to host the 2025 tournament and the 2030 tournament. The news was first tweeted out by TSN's Gord Miller.

World Junior news, the IIHF has reportedly picked these host countries for the next 14 WJCs:
2019 Canada
2020 Czech Rep
2021 Canada
2022 Sweden
2023 Russia
2024 Canada
2025 USA
2026 Canada
2027 Finland
2028 Czech Rep
2029 Canada
2030 USA
2031 Russia
2032 Canada

— Gord Miller (@GMillerTSN) February 13, 2018

In the 41 years of the tournament's history, the United States has hosted the event five times and co-hosted with Canada once. Buffalo has been the host city for the past two World Junior tournaments in the United States. Buffalo hosted the event back in 2011, and again just one month ago at KeyBank Center and HarborCenter.

This year's tournament ended up going to Canada after they beat Sweden 3-1 in the gold medal game back on January 5th. The United States failed to defend the gold medal on home ice, but they ended up beating the Czech Republic to claim the bronze medal.

The 2019 World Junior tournament in Canada will take place in Vancouver and Victoria, British Columbia.

When Buffalo won the bid to host the 2018 World Junior tournament, other cities like St. Louis, Pittsburgh, Tampa Bay and Chicago were also in the running to host the event. There could be a chance that Buffalo will look to host the event once again when the bidding process begins leading up to the 2025 World Juniors.

Comments ()